Perl 5.24.0 Release Announcement

We are pleased to announce perl v5.24.0, the first stable release of version 24 of Perl 5.

You will soon be able to download Perl v5.24.0 from your favorite CPAN mirror or find it at:

SHA1 digests for this release are:

    298fa605138c1a00dab95643130ae0edab369b4d  perl-5.24.0.tar.bz2
    35770ea5cf49a1082852c2300ccc3cbbc58b70fd  perl-5.24.0.tar.gz
    9d5424ac2debe979d1f7255fe0c818aff0b41b4c  perl-5.24.0.tar.xz

You can find a full list of changes in the file "perldelta.pod" located in the "pod" directory inside the release and on the web at

Perl 5.24.0 represents approximately 11 months of development since Perl 5.22.0 and contains approximately 360,000 lines of changes across 1,800 files from 77 authors.

Excluding auto-generated files, documentation and release tools, there were approximately 250,000 lines of changes to 1,200 .pm, .t, .c and .h files.

Perl continues to flourish into its third decade thanks to a vibrant community of users and developers. The following people are known to have contributed the improvements that became Perl v5.24.0:

Aaron Crane, Aaron Priven, Abigail, Achim Gratz, Alexander D'Archangel, Alex Vandiver, Andreas König, Andy Broad, Andy Dougherty, Aristotle Pagaltzis, Chase Whitener, Chas. Owens, Chris 'BinGOs' Williams, Craig A. Berry, Dagfinn Ilmari Mannsåker, Dan Collins, Daniel Dragan, David Golden, David Mitchell, Dominic Hargreaves, Doug Bell, Dr.Ruud, Ed Avis, Ed J, Father Chrysostomos, Herbert Breunung, H.Merijn Brand, Hugo van der Sanden, Ivan Pozdeev, James E Keenan, Jan Dubois, Jarkko Hietaniemi, Jerry D. Hedden, Jim Cromie, John Peacock, John SJ Anderson, Karen Etheridge, Karl Williamson, kmx, Leon Timmermans, Ludovic E. R. Tolhurst-Cleaver, Lukas Mai, Martijn Lievaart, Matthew Horsfall, Mattia Barbon, Max Maischein, Mohammed El-Afifi, Nicholas Clark, Nicolas R., Niko Tyni, Peter John Acklam, Peter Martini, Peter Rabbitson, Pip Cet, Rafael Garcia-Suarez, Reini Urban, Renee Baecker, Ricardo Signes, Sawyer X, Shlomi Fish, Sisyphus, Stanislaw Pusep, Steffen Müller, Stevan Little, Steve Hay, Sullivan Beck, Thomas Sibley, Todd Rinaldo, Tom Hukins, Tony Cook, Unicode Consortium, Victor Adam, Vincent Pit, Vladimir Timofeev, Yves Orton, Zachary Storer, Zefram.

The list above is almost certainly incomplete as it is automatically generated from version control history. In particular, it does not include the names of the (very much appreciated) contributors who reported issues to the Perl bug tracker.

Many of the changes included in this version originated in the CPAN modules included in Perl's core. We're grateful to the entire CPAN community for helping Perl to flourish.

For a more complete list of all of Perl's historical contributors, please see the AUTHORS file in the Perl source distribution.

We expect to release perl v5.25.0 today, followed by perl v5.25.1 on May 20th. The next major stable release of Perl 5, version 26.0, should appear in May 2017.

It has been my great pleasure to contribute to the development of Perl for the past five major releases. This will be my final major release. Thank you, everyone who has contributed to the project or offered kind words of support. They have been appreciated perhaps more than has been adequately communicated.

Beginning with perl v5.25.1, Sawyer X will be the new reigning pumpking. Please be as kind to him as you have to me!